A colorful picture of abstract forms

ISCN Global Mixer – fresh inputs for Smart City Development from around the world

One of the International Smart Cities Network’s core knowledge-formats is the “ISCN Global Mixer”, a complementary to our other activities and strategic exchanges: A wide spectrum of selected Smart City topics is brought to you in less than 30 minutes (20 min keynote + 10 min Q&A).

On our agenda are intriguing and practical ideas that cater to the pulse of your interests. Moreover, the ISCN Global Mixer is a vehicle to onramp out-of-the-box content or experimental approaches from the very frontier of Smart City development into the discourse of our network. We appreciate an active culture of discussion and aim to link practitioners to the experiences in our network and vice versa.

Usually the Global Mixers will take place around lunchtime CEST, giving the opportunity to our partners from other continents to tune in live as well. Sessions will be held in English, unless otherwise specified.

Upcoming ISCN Global Mixer events


Data Feminism and its relevance for Smart Cities

Date: 29 May 2024
Time: 11.00-11.30 AM (Berlin), 12.00-12.30 PM (Nairobi), 2.30-3.00 PM (New Delhi), 6.00-6.30 PM (Tokyo)
Speaker: Vanessa Hochwald, GIZ Data Lab
Registration

Urban Mining with AI

Date: 05 June 2024
Time: 1.00-1.30 PM (Berlin), 2.00-2.30 PM (Nairobi), 4.30-5.00 PM (New Delhi), 8.00-8.30 AM (Rio)
Speaker: Tanya Tsui, MIT Senseable City Lab Amsterdam
Registration

Ultra-early detection of wildfires

Date: 03 July 2024
Time: 11.00-11.30 AM (Berlin), 12.00-12.30 PM (Nairobi), 2.30-3.00 PM (New Delhi), 6.00-6.30 PM (Tokyo)
Speaker: Carsten Brinkschulte, CEO, Dryad Networks GmbH
Registration

EU AI Act - What's in it for my city?

Date: 10 July 2024
Time: 1.00-1.30 PM (Berlin), 2.00-2.30 PM (Nairobi), 4.30-5.00 PM (New Delhi), 8.00-8.30 AM (Rio)
Speaker: Gert Hilgers, PhD and Ivy Yang, PhD, Open & Agile Smart Cities (OASC)
Registration

Identifying safe public spaces for women in Mexico City with the Data Powered Positive Deviance Method

Date: 17 July 2024
Time: 11.00-11.30 AM (Berlin), 12.00-12.30 PM (Nairobi), 2.30-3.00 PM (New Delhi), 6.00-6.30 PM (Tokyo)
Speaker: Robin Nowok, GIZ Data Lab
Registration

Knowledge transfer for digital transformation: The Digital City Playbook Leipzig 

Date: 15 August 2024
Time: 11.00-11.30 AM (Berlin), 12.00-12.30 PM (Nairobi), 2.30-3.00 PM (New Delhi), 6.00-6.30 PM (Tokyo)
Speaker: Beate Ginzel and Elisabeth Breitenstein, City of Leipzig 
Registration

Documentation


MIMs - Minimal Interoperability Mechanisms for Open and Agile Smart Cities

Date: 08 May 2024, 11.00-11.30 AM (Berlin), 12.00-12.30 PM (Nairobi), 2.30-3.00 PM (New Delhi), 6.00-6.30 PM (Tokyo)

Speaker: Gert Hilgers, PhD, Local Digital Twin Strategist, Open & Agile Smart Cities (OASC)

 

Smart Village App - easy digital interface for rural communities

Date: 15 May 2024, 1.30-2.00 PM (Berlin), 2.30-3.00 PM (Nairobi), 5.00-5.30 PM (New Delhi), 8.30-9.00 AM (Rio)

Speaker: Philipp Wilimzig, CEO, Smart Village Solutions SVS GmbH

 

XPlanung - a data standard for interoperable urban planning processes

Date: 22 May 2024, 1.00-1.30 PM (Berlin), 2.00-2.30 PM (Nairobi), 4.30-5.00 PM (New Delhi), 8.00-8.30 AM (Rio)

Speaker: Ken Gericke, deputy head of division, German Federal Ministry for Digital and Transport (BMDV)

 

Smart District Development - Experiences from Berlin TXL

Date: 20 March 2024, 11.00-11.30 AM (Berlin), 3.30-4.00 PM (New Delhi), 7.00-7.30 AM (Brasilia)

Speaker: Dr.-Ing. Stefan Höffken, Berlin TXL

Documentation

 

TUMI Data - Making Mobility Data Available for All

Date: 06 March 2024, 1.00-1.30 PM (Berlin), 5.30-6.00 PM (New Delhi), 9.00-9.30 AM (Brasilia)

Speaker: Lena Plikat and Julian Kath, TUMI Data

Documentation
 

The cooperative as an emerging model for the data economy – the example of POSMO Switzerland, a data cooperative for mobility

Date: 28 February 2024, 1.00-1.30 PM (CEST), 5.30-6.00 PM (IST), 9.00-9.30 AM (BRT)

Speaker: Roger Fischer, POSMO Switzerland

Documentation

 

Livability in the Age of Shrinkage - Showcasing Urban Design Strategies & Digital Initiatives from Japan

Date: 21 February 2024, 10.00-10.30 AM (CEST), 2.30-3.00 PM (IST), 6.00-6.30 AM (BRT)

Speaker: Marco Capitanio, Architect and Urban Designer

Documentation

 

Rethinking ‘Smart‘: Insights for Community-Driven Innovation in Thailand

Date: 30 October 2023, 11.00-11.30 AM (CEST), 3.30-4.00 PM (IST), 5.00-5.30 AM (BRT)

Speaker: Dr. Non Arkaraprasertkul, Senior Expert at Digital Economy Promotion Agency (depa) of Thailand

Documentation 

 

Data Sharing for Future Mobility – Lessons from Mobility Data Space

Date: 23 October 2023, 11.00-11.30 AM (CEST), 2.30-3.00 PM (IST), 6.00-6.30 AM (BRT)

Speaker: Dr. Andreas Heindl, acatech – National Academy of Science and Engineering

Documentation 

 

Smart Cities and Inclusion

Date: 20 October 2023, 4.00-4.30 PM (CEST), 7.30-8.00 PM (IST), 11.00-11.30 AM (BRT)

Speaker: Monica Duhem, Director, Global Advisory Center, G3ict – The Global Initiative for Inclusive ICTs

Documentation

 

Urban Disaster Risk Resilience

Date: 18 October 2023, 1.00-1.30 PM (CEST), 4.30-5.00 PM (IST), 08.00-08.30 AM (BRT)

Speaker: Dr. Umamaheshwaran Rajasekar, Coalition for Disaster Resilient Infrastructure (CDRI)

Documentation 

 

Citizen Science and Smart Cities

Date: 17 October 2023, 1.00-1.30 PM (CEST), 4.30-5.00 PM (IST), 8.00-08.30 AM (BRT)

Speaker: Moritz Müller, Bürger Schaffen Wissen, a central citizen science platform in Germany

Documentation 

 

Virtual power plants and heating management in urban quarters

Date: 17. Okt 2023, 11-11.30 AM (CEST), 2.30-3 PM (IST), 6-6.30 AM (BRT)

Speaker: Nina Frei and Moritz Hüttl, EnBW – Energie Baden-Württemberg AG

Documentation 

 

Digital Twins for Regions

Date: 11 October 2023, 1.00-1.30 PM (CEST), 4.30-5.00 PM (IST), 8.00-08.30 AM (BRT)

Speaker: Thomas Kiwitt, Managing Director, Verband Region Stuttgart

Documentation 

 

Creating Public Value Through Employee Experience: The LA-BORA! gov Journey

Date: 9 August 2023, 15.00-15.30 (CEST), 18.30-19.00 (IST), 10.00-10.30 (BRT)

Speaker: Luana Silveira de Faria, Head of LA-BORA! gov innovation lab within the Ministry of Management and Innovation in Public Services, Brazil, and Governance Advisor at MIT.

Documentation

 

Digital Twins of Cities in Virtual Reality – 3 Use Cases

Date: 19 July 2023, 12.30-1.00 PM (CEST), 4.00-4.30 PM (IST), 07.30-08.00 AM (BRT)

Speaker: Leyla Kern, High-Performance Computing Centre Stuttgart

Documentation

Kontakt
Sandra Schett

Sandra Schett

ISCN Netzwerksekretariat
E-Mail: iscn@giz.de